New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Mga Kababayan,

I need help!!! I have a 2000 MBZ E320 that I want to ship to the Philippines. I am a returning resident and I know that I have tax exemptions (correct me if I am wrong). One more thing that concerns me, eh yung hirap na mailabas ang kotse sa Customs kahit na completo ang papeles and all the charges and fees are paid.

And also, would I have a problem registering the car sa LTO? Please shed some light. Please advise if you have more tips on how to smoothly do this process.

Thanks in advance,
    Jobe

2. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    I would suggest thru Cagayan. Customs duties/taxes should not be a problem.

3. Join Date
    Apr 2009
    So, even though all the papers are legal I still would haveto go thru Cagayan??? So if I got the car in Cagayan, would I be able to register it in any other LTO in Metro Manila?

4. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by JOBIN731 View Post
    So, even though all the papers are legal I still would haveto go thru Cagayan??? So if I got the car in Cagayan, would I be able to register it in any other LTO in Metro Manila?
    From my knowledge, no car leaves Cagayan unregistered. Ergo, it'll sport a "B" plate.

5. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    I am in the same boat Jobe.
    I've asked around & its gonna be a pain in the ass to bring a car home as a returning resident. Unless you are really willing to go through the hassle. And it only means you really love the car.
    First, to get that tax exemption you have to apply to Bureau of Finance for the tax excemption. To do this you'll need: 1) proof you are a returning resident & you were out for more than 5 years 2) ownership of the car - registration, receipts etc 3) after submitting all this you'll have to have the approval of the Secretary of Finance.