New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Hi guys!

I am planning to buy a second hand car and my budget would be 200k pesos. I have narrowed down my choices between a Toyota Corolla (Lovelife 98 - 2000 GLI or 95 - 97 bigbody GLI) and a Nissan Sentra (95 - 99 Series 3/4 or 2000 - 2002 Exalta).

I really want a fuel efficient and a low maintenance one because I'm a newbie driver who doesn't have experience tinkering a car. I hope you guys can help me out!

2. Join Date
    Jun 2008
    bro, for both cars, take into consideration din na manual transmission kunin mo since, i guess, it will be your 'bump car'.

for the corolla lovelife, pili ka ng xe or gli variants, pagkakaalam ko fuel injected narin 'to.

for the sentra, series 3 gen. 2 (malaki na yung tail lights) or a series 4, a supersaloon of this kind.

inspect maige yung mga titignang possible units, test drive, ask the previous owner of the car history.

Maglaan ng budget aside from the price unit for some possible repair.

Happy hunting bro!

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    If you choose a Sentra, you can buy a newer (well, less older car) for the same money.

And with cars of this age, it might be better to choose manual transmission to minimize problems like an abused automatic transmission dying on you. But if you do choose automatic, surplus replacements can easily be found for either the Corolla or Sentra.

Best to choose a unit that is factory stock as much as possible. No aftermarket mufflers, headers, lowered suspensions, bodykits, etc. Makes it easier to service the car when needed. And a modified car can be an abused car (racing) or improperly done modifications can result in poor fuel mileage or early wear of certain parts like shocks, balljoints, bushings, etc.
    Last edited by ghosthunter; January 13th, 2011 at 06:27 PM.

4. Join Date
    Jan 2011